Navigate Up
Integrated Waste Management
Menu +

Home Composting Workshop Schedule

Published on: 3/7/2014 10:39 AM
Print
REGISTER FOR ANY OF THE FREE COMPOSTING WORKSHOPS
Below is the workshop schedule for ‘Compost Basics’ and ‘Worm Composting Basics’ workshops. Each class lasts about 2 hours and there is no charge to attend. The Earth Machine™ compost bin and worm bin and composting accessories will be available for sale at all workshops except San Jose which will sell the Soil Saver™ compost bin to San Jose residents. Classes with less than 15 registered will be cancelled.  Adults only please.  Residents are welcome to attend any workshop anywhere in the county.
 
Classes sponsored by the Recycling and Waste Reduction Commission of Santa Clara County and your city.
 
Please pre-register by calling (408) 918-4640​ at least 72 hours prior to the class or...
 

Free Compost Classes January – December 2014

No Classes
Saturday, February 8, 10:00 – Noon
Sunnyvale – Las Palmas Park, 850 Russet Drive
Saturday, March 8, 10:00 – Noon
Sunnyvale – Las Palmas Park, 850 Russet Drive
 
Saturday, March 15, 10:00 – Noon
Cupertino – Community Hall at Cupertino Civic Center 10350 Torre Ave
 
Wednesday, March 26, 6:00 - 8:00 pm
San Jose – Guadalupe River Park Conservancy
Visitor and Education Center
438 Coleman Avenue
Saturday, April 12, 10:00 – Noon
Sunnyvale – Las Palmas Park, 850 Russet Drive
  
Saturday, April 26, 10:00 - Noon
Palo Alto – Cubberley Community Center Room H-1, 4000 Middlefield Road
 
Wednesday, April 30, 6:00 - 8:00 pm
San Jose – Guadalupe River Park Conservancy
Visitor and Education Center
438 Coleman Avenue
Saturday, May 3, 10:00 – Noon
Morgan Hill – Centennial Recreation Center Activity Room 171 W. Edmundson Avenue
 
Saturday, May 10, 10:00 – Noon
Sunnyvale – Las Palmas Park, 850 Russet Drive
 
Saturday, May 10, 10:00 – Noon
San Jose - Emma Prusch Farm Park, Meeting Hall – 647 S. King Road
 
Saturday, May 17, 10:00 – Noon
Mountain View – Community Center 201 S. Rengstorff Ave.
Saturday, June 7, 10:00 – Noon
Palo Alto – Common Ground 559 College Ave
 
Saturday, June 14, 10:00 – Noon
Sunnyvale – Las Palmas Park, 850 Russet Drive
 
Saturday, June 21, 10:00 – Noon
Worm Composting Workshop
Learn the step-by-step fundamentals of composting using red wiggler worms.  Create a worm habitat with a worm bin, troubleshoot your worm bin and use your valuable worm castings.
San Jose - Emma Prusch Farm Park, Meeting Hall – 647 S. King Road
 
Wednesday, June 25, 6:00 - 8:00 pm
San Jose – Guadalupe River Park Conservancy
Visitor and Education Center
438 Coleman Avenue
Saturday, July 12, 10:00 – Noon
Sunnyvale – Las Palmas Park, 850 Russet Drive
 
Saturday, July 26, 10:00 – Noon
Worm Composting Workshop
Learn the step-by-step fundamentals of composting using red wiggler worms.  Create a worm habitat with a worm bin, troubleshoot your worm bin and use your valuable worm castings.
Palo Alto – Cubberley Community Center Room H-1 4000 Middlefield Road
 
Wednesday, July 30, 6:00 - 8:00 pm
San Jose – Guadalupe River Park Conservancy
Visitor and Education Center
438 Coleman Avenue
Saturday, August 9, 10:00 – Noon
Sunnyvale – Las Palmas Park, 850 Russet Drive
 
Tuesday, August 19, 6:00 – 8:00 p.m.
Palo Alto – Cubberley Community Center Room H-1 4000 Middlefield Road
Saturday, September  13, 10:00 – Noon
Sunnyvale – Las Palmas Park, 850 Russet Drive
 
Saturday, September 20, 10:00 – Noon
Emma Prusch Farm Park, Meeting Hall – 647 S. King Road
 
Saturday, September 27,  10:00 – Noon
Morgan Hill – Centennial Recreation Center Activity Room 171 W. Edmundson Avenue
Saturday October 4, 10:00 – Noon
Worm Composting Workshop
Learn the step-by-step fundamentals of composting using red wiggler worms.  Create a worm habitat with a worm bin, troubleshoot your worm bin and use your valuable worm castings.
Santa Clara- Machado Park, 3360 Cabrillo Ave
 
Saturday October 4, 10:00 – Noon
Cupertino – Quinlan Community Center 10185 N. Stelling Road
 
Saturday, October 11, 10:00 – Noon
Sunnyvale – Las Palmas Park, 850 Russet Drive
 
Saturday, October 18, 10:00 – Noon
Mountain View – Community Center 201 S. Rengstorff Ave.
 
Saturday, October 25, 10:00 – Noon
Palo Alto – Cubberley Community Center Room H-1 4000 Middlefield Road
Saturday, November 8, 10:00 – Noon
Sunnyvale – Las Palmas Park, 850 Russet Drive
No Classes