Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Search SCCGOV Main Portal

居家隔離和檢疫指引 - 接觸者追蹤

病例調查和接觸者追蹤的目的是支援可能經COVID-19檢測呈陽性的個人安全地留在家中,並減緩COVID-19在其家人、朋友和社區中的傳播。  這一策略涉及與個人建立夥伴關係以接聽我們的電話,並根據下列指引在家中隔離或檢疫。「隔離」用於檢測結果呈陽性並可能具有傳染性的人士,而「檢疫」用於與檢測結果呈陽性的人士有密切接觸並在不久的將來可能具有傳染性的人士。這兩個詞語都意味著在一段時間內不與他人接觸,以防止疾病傳播。

居家隔離和檢疫指引 (2020年9月18日修訂)PDF

您是否需要接受COVID-19檢測?

遇到以下任何COVID-19症狀的人士都應接受檢測,無論您是否與確診COVID-19的人士曾有密切接觸。

  • 發燒或發冷 
  • 咳嗽 
  • 呼吸急促或呼吸困難 
  • 疲勞 
  • 肌肉或身體疼痛 
  • 頭痛 
  • 咽喉痛 
  • 味覺或嗅覺喪失 
  • 噁心、腹瀉或嘔吐

沒有上述任何COVID-19症狀但曾與確診COVID-19的人士接觸過的任何人應在接觸後第7天左右做檢測。如果在最後一次接觸COVID呈陽性人士後,未夠7天時做了檢測,則應在14天檢疫期結束時再做一次檢測。​

公共衛生局還建議下列人群接受檢測,即使他們沒有任何症狀:

  • 在理想情況下,任何經常與公眾互動且無法保持社交間距的前線或醫護人員應每月接受一次檢測。
  • 這可能包括在醫療保健、無家可歸者收容所、監獄和其他拘留場所、食物銀行、公共安全/緊急應變、餐飲服務、超市、建築、送貨、清潔、運輸或社會工作等領域工作的人員。

這不包括那些在工作時能夠保持社交間距的人士,例如在後勤辦公室工作的必要工作者。

在理想情況下,在養老院工作的任何人士都應每兩週接受一次檢測。

要查尋有關誰應接受檢測及查尋檢測站的更多訊息,請瀏覽www.sccfreetest.org

 

回到頂部 ▲

 

等待檢測結果時,該怎麼辦?

如果您和確診COVID-19的人士有密切接觸者但沒有症狀,請遵循在等待檢測結果時的檢疫措施

如果您沒有和確診COVID-19的人士有密切接觸者且沒有症狀,則只需等待檢測結果即可。您無需遵循隔離或檢疫措施。

如果您出現任何COVID-19症狀,而且不是您在日常生活中常見的症狀,則您可能得到COVID-19,因此必須遵循居家隔離措施

 

回到頂部 ▲

 

誰是密切接觸者?

密切接觸者是指從感染者出現症狀或檢測呈陽性2天之前開始,在任何時間內距感染者6英尺以內至少15分鐘的人員。 密切接觸者包括與感染者持續接觸15分鐘的人士,以及與感染者反覆短期接觸的人士。 此外,儘管面罩確實降低了COVID-19傳播的可能性,但它不影響某人是否確定是密切接觸者及是否應該接受檢疫。

 

回到頂部 ▲

 

COVID-19感染者什麼時候會被認為有傳染性?

經COVID-19檢測呈陽性的人士開始出現症狀前的48小時,直到症狀出現後至少10天且退燒(在未服用退燒藥的情況下)且任何其他症狀改善後至少24小時,這期間被認為具有傳染性。如果檢測呈陽性的人士沒有症狀,則從其首次陽性檢測採樣之前的48小時開始,直到其首次陽性檢測採樣後10天,該人被認為具有傳染性。

 

回到頂部 ▲

 

什麼是隔離? 什麼是檢疫?

這兩個詞語都意味著在一段時間內留在家中,不與他人接觸,以防止疾病傳播。「隔離」用於檢測結果呈陽性並可能具有傳染性的人士,而「檢疫」用於與檢測結果呈陽性的人士有密切接觸並在不久的將來可能具有傳染性的人士。

處於隔離或檢疫的每個人都應:

  • 留在家中
  • 將自己與家中的其他人隔離
  • 不允許訪客來訪
  • 不要使用公共交通工具
  • 不要為他人烹製食物或為他人端飯菜
  • 限制與寵物的接觸
  • 如果您無法在家中安全隔離或檢疫,請在聖塔克拉拉縣COVID支援團隊成員給您打電話時告知他們。他們將努力評估您是否有資格獲得住房、食品或其他支援服務。

視乎您是否處於隔離檢疫之中,您應該採取下列其他措施。

 

回到頂部 ▲

 

居家隔離措施:如果我被檢測出呈陽性或被告知要隔離,該怎麼辦?

如果您被診斷出患有COVID-19或在等待COVID-19檢測結果時,必須遵循居家隔離措施以防止疾病傳播。

留在家中,直到您康復並且沒有傳染性

  • 大多數得到COVID-19的人都是輕症,可以在家中恢復。
  • 密切留意症狀,如果症狀惡化,請就醫。非常重要的是,如果您的症狀惡化且您是60歲或以上,或患有心臟病、肺病或腎臟病、糖尿病、高血壓或有較弱的免疫系統等症狀,應立即致電醫生。您得重症的風險更高。
  • 請勿去上班、上學或公共場所。
  • 如果您有症狀,在以下情況下可以與他人相處:
    • 自症狀首次出現的10天後,並且
    • 24小時沒發燒(在未服用退燒藥的情況下),並且
    • 其他症狀改善
  • 如果沒有症狀,在以下情況下可以與他人相處:
    • 自您的第一次陽性檢測採樣的10天後

密切接觸者

  • 如果您經檢測確認或醫生診斷出您患有COVID-19,那麼從症狀出現前48小時直到您自我隔離期間,與您有密切接觸的每個人都應遵循居家檢疫措施。請與他們分享此網頁。
  • 如果需要在不向您的密切接觸者透露您身份的情況下通知您的密切接觸者有關的幫助,請撥打408-970-2870。

如果您無法將自己與他人隔離,該怎麼辦?

  • 如果您得到COVID-19,當您在隔離時與您有密切接觸的任何人都需要延長其檢疫直至您完成隔離後14天。這可能為期約24天。

 

回到頂部 ▲

 

居家檢疫措施:如果我發現與病例有密切接觸,該怎麼辦?

如果您與被診斷出患有COVID-19的人士住在同一家庭單位密切接觸(包括從該人出現任何症狀前的48小時開始接觸,直到他們自我隔離),您必須遵循下文的居家隔離措施。如果感染了COVID-19,最多可能需要14天您才會感覺不適。您在此期間必須留在家中並監察自己的健康狀況,以防止將感染傳染給他人。無論檢測結果是否陰性,您都必須留在家中,並繼續檢疫整整14天。

留在家中,因為您可能具有傳染性

  • 如果您無法避免與患有COVID-19的人士密切接觸,則您必須繼續檢疫整整14天。檢疫將始於病例的隔離期開始,終於病例的隔離期後14天。這可能意味著檢疫要持續24天。
  • 如果您目前有症狀或您在檢疫期間出現症狀,請立即做檢測。如果您沒有任何症狀,則您應該在最後一次與確診病例接觸後的7天左右做檢測。如果出於任何原因,自上次與確診病例密切接觸以來的7天內做了檢測,則您應在隔離期結束時再次做檢測。請在此處查找檢測訊息。

如果出現症狀,該怎麼辦

  • 如果出現任何COVID症狀,則必須遵循居家隔離措施
  • 盡快做檢測。 檢測資源
  • ​密切留意症狀,如果您的症狀嚴重或症狀惡化,尤其是如果您身患重病的風險較高時,請就醫。

返回工作和學校 - PDF

如果您已經按照公共衛生部局的指示完成了隔離和檢疫期,您已不具有傳染性或高感染風險。公共衛生局不為員工或雇主提供重返工作或工作請假函,也不為學生提供上學請假函。  您可以下載並列印這封信,證明您符合信中的條件可以重返工作或學校,您的雇主或學校不應要求獲得陰性檢測的證明。

如果您的雇主要求您在由您的家庭醫生和縣公共衛生局規定的隔離指引檢疫指引結束前返回工作,請致電勞工標準執行辦公室的免費法律諮詢熱線1-866-870-7725或瀏覽www.sccfairworkplace.org提出投訴。  法律諮詢專線律師不是縣政府員工,可以用英語、西班牙語、越南語、中文和他加祿語提供建議。

回到頂部 ▲

如果我罹患COVID-19,我是否還可以母乳餵養孩子?

 

母乳餵養已被證明對嬰兒和進行母乳餵養的母親都有很多好處,但是由於在大多數情況下,母乳餵養要求母親與孩子的距離少於6英尺(2公尺),如果母親罹患COVID-19,從母親到嬰兒的COVID-19傳播風險則很高。

 

是否進行母乳餵養是一個複雜且個人的決定,有多種選擇可以降低繼續進行母乳餵養嬰兒時傳播COVID的風險:

  • 母親可以選擇在他們感染COVID-19期間繼續進行母乳餵養,並通過時刻戴面罩、在母乳餵養前後進行頻繁的手部衛生以及盡可能縮短距離嬰兒6英尺(2公尺)內的總時間來減輕嬰兒的風險。
  • 在確診COVID的母親被指示隔離期間,進行母乳餵養的母親可以選擇用吸奶器擠奶並讓另一成人用奶瓶為嬰兒餵養擠出的母乳。保持手部衛生並遵循吸奶器零件、奶瓶和其他餵奶用品的清潔說明可進一步減輕風險。
  • 另一種選擇是在確診COVID的母親被指示隔離期間用吸奶器進行擠奶以保持泌乳並讓另一成人用奶瓶為嬰兒餵奶粉(「擠出母乳後把母乳倒掉」)。
  • 最後,即便母親以後可能無法母乳餵養,母親也可以選擇在她們因COVID-19隔離期間停止母乳餵養,以減輕COVID-19傳播的風險。

                                                                                                  

當母親被診斷患有COVID-19時,母乳餵養的其他一些注意事項:

  • 患COVID-19的嬰幼兒通常被證明病情較輕,並且在任何年齡段中死亡風險最低。
  • 沒有證據表明母乳本身可以傳播COVID-19。
  • 口罩和面罩已顯示可顯著減少呼吸道飛沫 。

 

如果您對COVID-19感染期間的情況和母乳餵養有具體疑問,請諮詢醫生、護士或哺乳咨詢師。

回到頂部 ▲

 

隔離與檢疫支援服務 -  (PDF​)

請撥打408-808-7770進行轉介。

轉介熱線每周7天,上午8點至下午5點開放。

聖塔克拉拉縣COVID-19支援團隊為被COVID-19檢測呈陽性或被確診為陽性病例接觸者的本縣居民提供資源,使他們能夠安全地隔離或檢疫。該計劃包含三個主要部分:  

第一部分包括設有支援服務的汽車旅館,為無法在家中安全隔離或檢疫或沒有房屋的病例和接觸者提供服務。在這家旅館,縣政府提供有限的病例管理服務、每天三餐和洗衣服務。醫療和行為健康工作人員每週進行一次福利檢查,並根據需要將個人與社會服務、醫療和行為健康服務聯繫起來。並提供開始或結束隔離或檢疫而往返於汽車旅館的運輸。一旦隔離或檢疫期結束,計劃工作人員將協助參與者回家或過渡到適當且可用的集體和非集體庇護所。 

第二部分為可以在家隔離和檢疫,但需要幫助的人士提供某些支援服務。支援服務類似於為汽車旅館所提供的服務。大多數參與家庭都需要購買日用雜貨和清潔用品的幫助。 

該計劃的*第三部分是專門為參加該計劃的個人和家庭提供租金和水電費賬單援助。每個家庭可能有資格獲得最高$5,000的補助。*個人必須在80% AMI(區域中位數收入)或以下的收入才符合資格。 

經COVID檢測呈陽性或已暴露於COVID且由於暴露而需要隔離和檢疫的個人可使用這項服務

回到頂部

 

接觸者追蹤通話–預期會發生什麼

Answer the call

作為一個社區,我們需要我們每個人都儘自己的一份努力來減緩傳播並保持社區健康。

您的隱私對我們非常重要,您提供的任何訊息將僅由公共衛生局用於確保我們社區的健康和安全。我們從來不會要求您提供您的社會保障號碼、財務資料或移民身份。

 

回到頂部 ▲

 

接觸者追蹤員給我打電話時會發生什麼事情?

您可能會收到916-262-7553發來的一條簡訊,然後從該號碼打來的電話,來電者身份顯示為「CA COVID TEAM」(加州政府新冠肺炎支援團隊)。這是我們的聖塔克拉拉縣COVID支援團隊試圖與您聯繫。您可以透過接聽電話來幫助保護您的家人和朋友。​撥打電話的目的是確保您擁有安全留在家中所需要的一切,並避免與他人接觸。

如果您的檢測結果呈陽性,我們的COVID支援團隊將確認您的身份,詢問您的感受以及一些關鍵問題,以幫助我們了解您的狀況。然後,我們將要求想一下症狀開始之前的48小時內到現在為止的狀況。如果您沒有任何症狀,我們將請您回想一下您在呈陽性檢測之前的48小時,直到現在。我們將詢問您與您有密切接觸的人士,他們可能已暴露於這種疾病。 我們將讓可能已暴露於這種疾病的任何人都知道他們可能已暴露於這種疾病,同時盡力保護您的身份。

如果您在某人具有傳染性期間一直與其保持密切接觸,我們的COVID支援團隊將確認您的身份,然後通知您,您已暴露於COVID-19。我們將提供有關什麼時候暴露但不會提供如何或者暴露於的訊息,以便我們可以保護生病的人士的身份。我們將回答您的問題,並建議您接受COVID-19檢測。

為了阻止病毒在您的社區內傳播,您可以做的最重要的事情就是接聽我們的電話,然後如果因為您經檢測呈陽性且當前具有傳染性,或者是因為您曾暴露於病毒並可能具有傳染性或很快變得具有傳染性被指示留在家中,請遵照指示做。我們的接觸者追蹤員很樂意幫助您安全地留在家中,並會與您討論在我們建議的時間內您需要留在家中的任何幫助。

 

回到頂部 ▲

 

我如何知道來電是真實的還是騙局?

您接聽的電話將從916-262-7553打來,位置為沙加緬度。來電者ID會顯示為CA COVID Team(加州政府新冠肺炎支援團隊)給您打電話。當我們聯絡您時,我們會表示我們從聖塔克拉拉縣打電話來,並將透過詢問您的生日來核實您的身份。我們確實需要詢問有關您去過的地方以及曾共處的人士的問題。 

聖塔克拉拉縣COVID支援團隊將絕不要求您提供:

  • 銀行、信用卡或財務資料;
  • 金錢、禮品卡或轉賬;
  • 社會保障號碼;或
  • 移民身份。

    如果您想核實那是聖塔克拉拉縣COVID支援團隊給您打電話,您可以掛斷電話,然後撥打916-262-7553聯絡我們以核實那是我們打來的電話。如果您回撥我們致電您的電話號碼,您應該會被轉接回指定給您打電話的接觸者追蹤員。您也可以撥打408-970-2870聯絡我們來核實公共衛生局正在設法與您聯絡。 

     

    回到頂部 ▲

    ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
    Last updated: 11/6/2020 3:42 PM

Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Search SCCGOV Main Portal

Home Isolation and Quarantine Guidance - Contact Tracing

The goals of case investigation and contact tracing are to support individuals who may be positive for COVID-19 to safely stay home and slow the spread of COVID-19 among their family, friends, and community.  This strategy involves a partnership with individuals to answer our calls, to isolate or quarantine at home based on the guidance below. “Isolation” is used for a person who has had a positive test result and is likely contagious, and “quarantine” is used if a person was in close contact with someone who had a positive test result and might become contagious in the near future. Both words mean staying home, without contact with others, for a certain period of time in order to prevent the spread of disease.

Home Isolation and Quarantine Guidance

PDF:  | English​ | Chinese​ | Spanish​ | Vietnamese​ | Tagalog |

 

Do you need to be tested for COVID-19?

Anyone experiencing any of the COVID-19 symptoms below should get tested, whether or not you had close-contact to someone confirmed to have COVID-19.

  • Fever or chills 
  • Cough 
  • Shortness of breath or difficulty breathing 
  • Fatigue 
  • Muscle or body aches 
  • Headache 
  • Sore throat 
  • Loss of taste or smell 
  • Nausea, diarrhea, or vomiting ​

Anyone not experiencing any of the COVID-19 symptoms above but who has been exposed to someone confirmed to have COVID-19 should get tested around day 7 after exposure. If testing is done earlier than 7 days after the last exposure to COVID positive person, you should repeat testing towards the end of the 14 day quarantine period.​

The Public Health Department is also recommending testing for the following groups of people even if they do not have any symptoms:

  • Any front line or healthcare worker who regularly interacts with members of the public and cannot maintain social distancing at work should ideally get tested once a month.
  • This may include those who work in healthcare, homeless shelters, jails and other custodial settings, food banks, public safety/emergency response, food service, grocery, construction, delivery, janitorial, transit, or social work, among other jobs.

This does not include those who are able to maintain social distancing while at work, such as essential workers who work in a back office. 

Any person who works in a skilled nursing facility should ideally get tested every two weeks.

To find more information about who should be tested and to find testing sites, visit www.sccfreetest.org.

 

Back to Top ▲

What Should I do while I'm waiting for test results?

If you have no symptoms but were a close contact of a person with COVID-19, then follow the Quarantine Steps while you are waiting for your test results.

If you do not have COVID-19 symptoms, and are not a close contact, you just need to wait for your test results. You do not need to follow Isolation or Quarantine Steps.

If you develop any of the COVID symptoms, and they are new symptoms that you do not usually have in daily life, then you may have COVID-19 and you must follow the Home Isolation Steps​.

 

Back to Top ▲

Who is a close contact?

You are considered a CLOSE CONTACT of a COVID-19 positive person if you were within 6 feet for 15 minutes or more, regardless of whether either person was wearing a face covering, during the period the COVID-19 positive person is considered contagious.

 

Back to Top ▲

When is a person with COVID-19 considered contagious?

A person who tests positive for COVID-19 is considered contagious starting 48 hours before symptoms began until at least 10 days after symptom onset AND 3 days after their fever improved (without fever-reducing medication). If a person who tests positive has NO symptoms, that person is considered contagious starting 48 hours before their first positive test was collected until 10 days after their first positive test was collected.

 

Back to Top ▲

What is isolation? What is quarantine?

Both words mean staying home, without contact with others, for a certain period of time in order to prevent the spread of disease. “Isolation” is used for a person who has had a positive test result and is likely contagious, and “quarantine” is used if a person was in close contact with someone who had a positive test result and might become contagious in the near future.

Everyone who is isolating or quarantining should:

  • Stay Home
  • Separate yourself from others in your home
  • Do not allow visitors
  • Do not use public transportation
  • Do not prepare or serve food to others
  • Limit contact with pets
  • If you are unable to isolate or quarantine safely at home, let the Santa Clara County COVID Support Team member know when they call you. They will work to assess your eligibility for housing, food, or other support services.

Depending on if you are in Isolation or in Quarantine, there are additional actions you should take below.

 

Back to Top ▲

Home Isolation Steps: What should I do if I become positive or am told to isolate?

If you have been diagnosed with COVID-19 or are waiting for COVID-19 test results, you must follow the Home Isolation Steps to prevent the spread of disease.

Stay home until you have recovered and are not infectious

  • Most people with COVID-19 have mild illness and can recover at home.
  • Monitor your symptoms closely and seek medical care if symptoms worsen, especially if you are at a higher risk of serious illness1.
  • Do not go to work, school, or public areas.
  • If you have symptoms, you can be with others after:
    • 10 days since symptoms first appeared, AND
    • 3 days with no fever (without fever-reducing medication), AND
    • Improvements of other symptoms
  • If you have no symptoms, you can be with others after:
    • 10 days have passed since your first positive test was collected

Close Contacts

  • If you have a test confirmation or doctor’s diagnosis of COVID-19, then everyone who you had close contact with from 48 hours before your symptoms began until you self-isolated should follow the Home Quarantine Steps. Please share this page with them.
  • To request help in notifying your Close Contacts without revealing your identity to them, please call 408-970-2870.

What if you cannot separate yourself from others?

  • Anyone who continues to be in close contact with you will need to extend their quarantine until 14 days from the day you finish isolating. This may last about 24 days.

Which groups should follow different isolation recommendations?

Anyone who lives or works in a high risk, congregate setting (e.g. jails, shelters, skilled nursing and long-term care facilities) and students living in dormitories should remain in isolation until 14 days since symptoms first appeared AND 7 days with no fever (without fever reducing medication) AND other symptoms have improved.

1If you are 60 years or older or have a condition such as heart, lung, or kidney disease, diabetes, high blood pressure, or a weakened immune system, you are at higher risk of getting more seriously ill.

 

Back to Top ▲

Home Quarantine Steps: What should I do if I find out that I’ve been in close contact with a case?

If you live in a household with or had close contact with someone diagnosed with COVID-19 (including contact from 48 hours before that person had any symptoms, until they self-isolated) you must follow these Home Quarantine Steps below. It can take up to 14 days to become ill if you become infected with COVID-19. You must stay home and monitor your own health during this time to prevent passing infection to anyone else. You must stay home regardless of negative test results and continue to quarantine for the full 14-day period.

Stay home because you may become contagious

  • If you are unable to avoid close contact with the person with COVID-19, you must continue to stay in quarantine for 14 full days. Quarantine starts when the case’s isolation period begins and ends 14 days after case’s isolation period. This could mean quarantine for 24 days.
  • Get tested immediately if you are or become symptomatic during quarantine. Repeat testing around 7 days after your last exposure to the case. If your test was earlier than 7 days from the last time you were with the case, you will need to get a second test towards the end of your quarantine period. Please find testing information here.

What if you develop symptoms?

  • If you develop any of the COVID symptoms you must follow the Home Isolation Steps​.
  • Get tested as soon as possible. Testing Resources​
  • Monitor your symptoms closely and seek medical care if your symptoms are severe or your symptoms worsen, especially if you are at a higher risk of serious illness. ​

Which groups may need to follow different quarantine instructions?

If you are in one of the following sectors (Fire Departments; Law Enforcement and Community Corrections; 9-1-1 Dispatch; Healthcare Delivery) and compliance with the Public Health Department’s isolation and quarantine guidance would compromise your continuity of service, you should contact your employer for additional guidance.

 

Returning to Work and School

PDF:  | English | Spanish | Vietnamese | Chinese | Tagalog​ |

If you have completed your isolation and quarantine period as told to you by the Public Health Department, you may no longer be considered contagious or at high risk for infection. The Public Health Department does not provide Return to Work or Work Excuse Letters for employees or employers or School Excuse Letters for students.  You may download and print this letter showing proof that you can return to work or school if you meet the criteria in the letter and that your employer or school should not request proof of a negative test.

If your employer is requiring your return to work prior to the end of the Isolation guidance or Quarantine guidance provided by your health care provider and the County’s Public Health Department, please contact the Office of Labor Standards Enforcement’s free legal advice line at 1-866-870-7725 or visit www.sccfairworkplace.org to file a complaint.  Legal Advice Line attorneys are not County staff, and advice is available in English, Spanish, Vietnamese, Chinese and Tagalog.

 

Back to Top ▲

Isolation & Quarantine Support Services

Please call 408-808-7770 to make a referral.
The referral hotline is available 7 days/week, 8 am – 5 pm.

PDF:  | English | Chinese | Spanish | Vietnamese | Tagalog​ |

Santa Clara County COVID-19 Support Team provides resources to County residents who test positive for COVID-19 or are identified as contacts to a positive case to enable them to isolate or quarantine safely. There are three main components to the program:  

The first component consists of a motel with supportive services for cases and contacts who cannot safely isolate or quarantine at home or who do not have a home. At this hotel, the County offers limited case management services, three meals per day and laundry services. Medical and behavioral health staff perform wellness checks weekly and connect individuals to social services, medical and behavioral health services based on their needs. Transportation to and from the motel to initiate or conclude isolation or quarantine can be provided. Once the isolation or quarantine period is complete, the Program staff assist participants to return to their homes or transition to appropriate and available congregate and non-congregate shelter settings. 

The second component provides support services for persons who can isolate and quarantine at home, but who need some assistance. The supportive services are similar to what is provided at the motel. Most participating households need help buying groceries and cleaning supplies. 

The *third component of the Program is rental and utility bills specifically for individuals and families participating in this Program. Each household may be eligible for up to $5,000. *Individuals must qualify based on income of 80% AMI (Area Median Income) or less. 

This service is available to individuals who have tested positive for COVID or have been exposed to COVID and need to isolate and quarantine due to exposure.  

 

Back to Top ▲

Contact Tracing Calls – What to Expect

Answer the call

As a community, we need each and everyone one of us to do our part to slow the spread and keep our community healthy.

Your privacy is incredibly important to us, and any information you provide will only be used by the Public Health Department to ensure the health and safety of our community. You will never be asked for your social security number, financial information, or immigration status.

 

Back to Top ▲

What happens when a contact tracer calls me?

You may receive a text and then a call from 916-262-7553 with the caller identity as “CA COVID TEAM.” This is our County of Santa Clara COVID Support Team trying to reach you. You can help protect your family and friends by answering the call.

The goal of the call is to make sure you have everything you need to safely stay home and prevent exposure to others.

If you have tested positive, our COVID Support Team will confirm your identity, ask you how you are feeling, and ask a few key questions to help us learn about your case. We will then ask you to think about where you have been in the 48 hours before your symptoms started up until now. If you have no symptoms, we will ask you to think back to the 48 hours before when your positive test was taken up until now. We will ask about the people that you were in close contact with may have been exposed.  We will let anyone that may have been exposed know that they have been exposed, while trying our best to keep your identity protected.

If you have been a close contact to someone during the period they are contagious, our COVID Support Team will confirm your identity and then notify you that you have been exposed to COVID-19. We will provide information about when the exposure happened but not how or to whom, so that we can protect the identity of the person who was ill. We will answer your questions and advise that you be tested for COVID-19.

In order to stop the spread of the virus within your community, the most important thing you can do is answer our call and stay home if instructed to do so, either because you have tested positive and are currently contagious or because you have been exposed and could be contagious or become contagious soon. Our contact tracers are here to help you stay home safely and will talk to you about any help you need to stay home for the period we recommend.

 

Back to Top ▲

How do I know the call is real or a scam?

The call you receive will come from 916-262-7553, with a location as Sacramento. The Caller ID will say that it is the CA COVID Team calling you. When we reach you, we will say that we are calling from Santa Clara County and will verify your identity by asking your birthday. We do need to ask questions about where you have been and the people you have spent time with. 

The Santa Clara County COVID Support Team will never ask you for:

  • bank, credit card, or financial information;
  • money, gift cards, or money transfers;
  • Social Security numbers; or
  • immigration status.

If you want to double check that it is the Santa Clara County COVID Support Team calling you, you can hang up and call us back at 916-262-7553 to verify it is us calling. If you are using the number we called you on, you should be routed back to the contact tracer assigned to call you. You may also call us at 408-970-2870 to verify that the Public Health Department is trying to reach you. 

 

Back to Top ▲

Want to Become a Contact Tracer?

Contact Tracer

For information on our Contact Tracing workforce expansion and to find Contact Tracing volunteer opportunities and jobs, visit the Contact Tracing Workforce page.

​​​​​​ ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
Last updated: 9/11/2020 4:59 PM