Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Search SCCGOV Main Portal

冠狀病毒與學校

歡迎教育合作夥伴。縣教育局和縣公共衛生局繼續與學校、學校負責人和家長合作,為安全復課進行親身學習做準備,並優先考慮進行小學親身教學。

 

回到顶部 ▲

高等教育學校/學院目前的指引

  • 對高等教育學校/學院的建議 – 2020年9月17日 - PDF

學區教育長、校務委員會、行政負責人目前的指引

  • 學校的強制性指引 – 9月8日2020 - PDF

Reopening of Santa Clara County K-12 Schools for the 2020-2021 School Year. Issued June 30, 2020. Revised August 7, 2020 

 

回到顶部 ▲

家長資源 

  • 衛生局長SaraCody博士和教育長Mary Ann DeWan博士就即將到來的學年發出有關兒童疫苗接種和保健的信– 2020723日。
    PDF: | 英語 | 西班牙語 | 越南語 | 中​​文 | 他加祿語

  • 聖塔克拉拉縣K-12學年復課家長指引 – September 21,2020 PDF

  • K-12學校指引背後的科學 - 2020717下載PDF-聖塔克拉拉縣公共衛生局舉辦了一個網路研討會,討論2020630日發布的K-12學校指引背後的科學。該網路研討會旨在提供概述,重點介紹了最新的公共衛生建議背後的當前科學資料。本概述並不全面,但重點介紹了與學校環境相關的主題和關鍵文章以及報告。我們對COVID-19的理解日新月異。聖塔克拉拉縣公共衛生局將繼續監視新興研究,並提供最新訊息和建議。

 

托兒計劃、學前班、夏令營和其他服務兒童和青少年的計劃 

 

重要資源

 

回到顶部 ▲

常見問答 關於學校復課

  1. 學校什麼時候可以復課以進行親身教學?

    2020年7月17日,州長紐森(Gavin Newsom)宣布了學校復課的新標準和學校停課的指引。這些標準和指引包含在加州公共衛生部(CDPH)發布的標題為「新冠肺炎與2020-2021學年加州K-12學校復課以進行親身學習框架」的文件中。在此框架下,K-12學校(公立和私立)都只能進行遠程學習,並且如果位於在過去14天的任何時間被列入州政府監視名單的一個縣中,則不得復課以進行親身教學。聖塔克拉拉縣連續14天都沒有從州政府監視名單中刪除,因此,聖塔克拉拉縣的學校一般來說必須停課。一旦被允許復課,學校應按照公共衛生局的要求開恢復親身教學和活動。

    但是,在州政府的學校復課框架下,明確允許小學向其縣級衛生局長申請豁免,允許全部或部分親身教學,即使在州政府監視名單中的縣也可以。可以在教育長(或對於特許學校或私立學校而言同等職務)與勞工、家長和社區組織協商申請豁免的情況下准予豁免。當地衛生局長在考慮批准豁免申請時,必須審查當地社區流行病學資料,考慮其他公共衛生干預措施,並與CDPH協商。

    有關如何申請豁免以恢復小學親身教學(全天或混合模式)的更多訊息,請參見此處

  1. 如果學校復課以進行親身教學,那麼將使用什麼標準來決定何時讓學校停課?

    州政府發布了以下指引:

    • 「如果在一所學校的多個群組出現多宗病例,或者在14天之內教師/學生/職員總數至少有5%為病例,則視乎學校的規模和實際佈局,個別學校停課是恰當的。」
    • 「如果一個學區中有25%或更多的學校因COVID-19而在14天內停課,並且與當地公共衛生局協商,教育長則應要求該學區停課。」
    • 與當地公共衛生局協商之後,停課的學校和學區一般可在14天後復課。

    但是,州政府指引還認同,個別學校停課和學區停課應與當地衛生官員協商。當地衛生局長可以基於其他原因(包括來自公共衛生調查的結果或其他當地流行病學資料)來決定是否要求學校停課。

    聖塔克拉拉縣衛生局長在學校停課決定中可能考慮的因素包括但不限於與學校有關的COVID-19病例數;學校有效應對COVID-19病例和暴露的能力;聖塔克拉拉縣當前發生的COVID-19病例數;學校在多大程度上促進了COVID-19的社區傳播;我們的醫療保健系統具有確定和照護病例並防止在醫療機構中傳播的能力;廣泛檢測的可得性和使用以發現新病例;本縣居民生病時能夠快速有效地自行隔離或檢疫的能力;對COVID-19的科學理解不斷發展;以及我們社區在進保持社交間距、戴面罩和採取其他預防措施方面的持續合作。

  1. 屬於穩定群組的學生如何從特殊教育職員和/或專科教師那裡獲得特殊服務? 對於如何親身為這些學生提供服務的建議是什麼?

    殘障學生及其個人助手可以在一天的一部分時間內輪流進入普通教育教室。殘障學生可以在一天的一部分時間內在不同的課堂群組中度過,以獲得特殊教育服務。縣政府建議學校在教學期間(例如,在全班教學、演講或授課期間)訓練工作人員和學生彼此之間至少保持六英尺(2公尺)的距離。對於特殊教育講師、助手和醫護人員,在向學生提供服務時,如需要反覆密切接觸(例如,協助日常生活活動)或進行健康評估(包括視力和聽力篩查),建議戴外科口罩和護面罩。對於需要通用預防措施的程序(例如,如廁協助、插管和胰島素注射),請按照建議戴手套。此外,在可能生成氣溶膠的程序(例如,氣管切開部位抽吸和霧化器治療)所使用的PPE應遵循 CDC指引。

    專科教師可以輪流進入教室提供專業教學(例如,藝術或音樂),但必須與群組中的每個人保持至少6英尺(2公尺)的距離。學校可以考慮限制親身與每個學生群組在一起的教師人數,例如讓專科或特定學科的教師遠程提供教學。此外,除了進食或喝飲料時,所有成人在校園內任何時候都必須戴面罩。在課堂上,教師還可以考慮將面罩與護面罩結合使用,以進一步降低傳播風險。

  1. 如果在某天要進行親身課堂教學,代課教師應該遵循什麼規程?

    代課教師可以代為缺勤的教師授課。如果可能,學校應透過為特定學校指定某些代課教師來限制與穩定群組互動的代課教師人數。縣政府建議學校在教學期間(例如,在全班教學、演講或授課期間)訓練工作人員和學生彼此之間至少保持六英尺(2公尺)的距離。

  1. 曾去外州旅行的家庭是否應被要求接受檢疫才可以返回學校?

    聖塔克拉拉縣公共衛生局目前尚無針對曾離開本縣或本州旅行的家庭的檢疫政策。但是,學校應繼續留意公共衛生局的網站,以瞭解與COVID-19相關的任何新的或更新的要求和指引。

  1. 如果學生在戶外見面,戴口罩並且在演奏或唱歌時保持社交距離,是否可以進行樂隊和合唱團的排練?

    目前一般禁止室內和室外合唱團和樂隊排練。但是,如果不涉及會產生氣溶膠的活動(例如唱歌、吹奏樂器、歡呼或誦唱),則可以進行親身合唱團、樂隊和啦啦隊活動。可為不產生氣溶膠活動安排親身上課,例如聲律學習、音樂理論、音樂歷史、創作、分析等。

    學校應考慮使用Zoom或其他視訊會議平台,以便學生可以在家中參與會產生氣溶膠活動(例如唱歌、吹奏樂器、歡呼和誦唱)。

  1. 是否有針對課前和課後照護提供商(無論是現場還是異地)的具體托兒指引,以減輕傳播,因為這可能會導致 多年齡段兒童群組混合?

    公共衛生局已經發布了有關托兒和其他為兒童和青少年服務的計劃的指令,請見此處

  1. 我們是否可以在開學前在校園裡安排幾群學生歡迎新生?

    對於歡迎新生,獲准復課進行親身教學的學校應採用聖塔克拉拉縣公共衛生局的「新冠肺炎應對準備就緒:聖塔克拉拉縣K-12學校2020-2021學年復課」文件中適用的身體間距、衛生和其他要求和建議。

  1. 從飲水噴泉飲水是否安全?還是僅應將其用於水瓶裝水?

    學校應暫停或修改飲水噴泉的使用,以盡量減少學生和職員的共用或 觸碰物品,同時保持飲用水的供應。

  1. 是否應該要求所有教師和工作人員在重返學校之前先進行COVID-19檢測,還是像從事其他高暴露領域的人士例行檢測一樣進行例行檢測?

    教師和職員在返回學校之前不需要進行COVID-19檢測。建議學校鼓勵對所有工作人員每月例行檢測,而州政府要求「學區和學校應在檢測能力允許的範圍內並在可行的情況下,定期對工作人員進行檢測。

  1. 學校如何獲得足夠的個人防護設備(PPE)供應,例如乾洗手或面罩?

    加州為學區和特許學校提供了PPE的初次分發,供校園復課後的前60天使用。為了滿足學校的其他PPE需求,加州政府已與加州製造商和技術協會(California Manufacturers & Technology Association) 合作推出了「加州安全製造」(Safely Making California)市場,以折扣價格提供非醫療級PPE,例如口罩、護面罩、防護服、手套、消毒劑和濕巾。

  1. 為成人群體提供服務的學校(如業餘補習學校)應使用什麼指引?

    業餘補習學校需遵守2020年7月2日聖塔克拉拉縣衛生局長制定適用於所有活動和行業應對新冠肺炎(COVID-19)大流行的強制性降低風險措施的命令,請見此處。在不違反2020年7月2日命令的範圍內,還鼓勵業餘補習學校遵循「新冠肺炎應對準備就緒:聖塔克拉拉縣K-12學校2020-2021學年復課」文件中針對初中和高中的指引和計劃程序。

  1. 家長,尤其是年幼兒童的家長,會想去教室。可以嗎?

    一般來說,不可以。學校只能允許必要的訪客和志願者進入校園,並且必須限制與他們接觸的學生和職員的人數。限制訪客對於限制教室中傳播COVID-19的風險至關重要。

  1. 學校是否可以允許低年級學生與高年級學生一起上特定的課程(例如,數學或音樂)?

    為了限制群組混合,低年級學生不 應與高年級學生一起參加親身教學。

  1. 誰負責執行戴面罩要求?

    學校有責任確保要求高年級學生戴面罩以符合這些要求,並強烈鼓勵低年級學生時刻戴面罩。然而,如果學生偶爾不戴面罩,或者教室中一些學生在必要時(例如,由於特殊需求)始終無法戴面罩,請勿要求其離開教室。可在「新冠肺炎應對準備就緒:聖塔克拉拉縣K-12學校2020-2021學年復課」查閲公共衛生局對戴面罩的詳細要求和指引。

  1. 學校是否需要向聖塔克拉拉縣教育局或聖塔克拉拉縣公共衛生局提供復課計劃?

    沒有一般要求向聖塔克拉拉縣教育局或聖克拉拉縣公共衛生局提交復課計劃。但是,申請豁免小學復課而其他學校仍停課的 學區/學校必須提交其復課計劃,如此處所述。

  1. 是否可以使用一次性口罩代替布面罩?

    公共衛生局強。

  1. 學校是否需 要遵守縣衛生局長的2020年7月2日制定適用於所有活動和行業應對新冠肺炎(COVID-19)大流行的強制性降低風險措施的命令(以下簡稱「命令」)?

    敦促政府機構(包括本地教育機構)遵守命令中適用於企業的要求。然而,如果政府實體確定此類要求會阻礙或干擾政府的必要政府職能,則不要求政府實體及其承包商遵循這些要求,除非衛生局長另行明確指示。受衛生局長特定指令約束的部門/行業必須遵守適用指令的要求。所有K-12學校都必須遵守「新冠肺炎應對準備就緒:聖塔克拉拉縣K-12學校2020-2021學年復課」和《學校強制性指令》的要求。

  1. 在學校或計劃中發現COVID-19病例時,我們應該如何通知其家人?

    學校、托兒計劃和其他服務兒童或青少年的計劃應使用信函範本,以便在學校環境或服務兒童或青少年的計劃中發現COVID-19病例或COVID-19病例的密切接觸者時通知個人並為受影響的個人提供指示。信函範本涉及三種情境: (1)當群組中的學生/兒童或工作人員曾與COVID-19病例有密切接觸,(2)當群組中的學生/兒童或工作人員經COVID-19檢測呈陽性,以及(3)當在非群組環境中,學生/兒童或工作人員經COVID-19檢測呈陽性。群組是一群穩定的學生/兒童和工作人員,他們在整個學習日/計劃期間一直在一起,並且不與其他組的學生/兒童和工作人員混合在一起。

    請注意,這些信函範本與縣政府的「服務兒童或青少年的計劃強制性指令」或縣政府「新冠肺炎應對準備就緒:聖塔克拉拉縣K-12學校2020-2021學年復課」文件中描述的信函範本有些不一致。指令和學校復課文件都將在不久的將來進行更新,以更清楚地引用這些信函範本。與此同時,服務兒童或青少年的學校和計劃應 使用此處張貼的信函範本。

  1. 病例或密切接觸者何時可以返回學校?

    如果學生和教職員工符合 重返工作和學校信. 中詳述的標準,他們則不再被視為具有傳染性。只要符合所詳述的標準,聖塔克拉拉縣就不鼓勵學校要求提供醫生證明或陰性檢測結果才能返回工作。

    相反,有症狀的非密切接觸者需要提供陰性檢測結果或醫生證明以便在退燒和其他症狀改善後24小時內返回工作。拒絕做檢測和/或醫學評估的個人應被視為COVID病例,並根據通常的隔離標準,即症狀發作後10天,加上退燒和其他症狀改善24小時後,可以返回工作。

  1. 親身教學的群組是否有人數限額?

    公共衛生局不要求學校採用群組人數限額,但強烈鼓勵學校將穩定的教室群組盡人數可能少。群組中人數越少,便減少了學生與教職員工之間的接觸者人數,不過沒有具體的最佳群組人數。實際上,學校可能需要限制每個群組中的學生人數,以符合其他公共衛生要求。例如,初中和高中可能需要限制每個群組中的學生人數,以便學生課桌之間保持六英尺(2公尺)的距離,這是在初中和高中環境中必須遵守的要求。學校在確定適當的群組人數時應權衡提供教學的具體情況(例如,教室尺寸和人員配備資源)、各種減輕策略的使用情況(例如,通風、戶外教學活動和面罩使用 、年級及學生的教育需求。

  1. 如果有症狀的學生或員工提供醫生證明以替代陰性的COVID-19測試結果,該醫生證明應說明什麼? (TK-12)

    如果有症狀的個人並非COVID-19病例密切接觸者尋求醫療評估,但並未有接受COVID-19檢測,在醫生提供書面解釋並包括以下内容的情況下,他/她可以重返學校:完成醫學評估,並聲明已找到症狀的替代解釋,並且未指示進行COVID-19檢測。

  2. 回到顶部 ▲

    檔案 - 過往指引

    ​​​​​​
Last updated: 10/26/2020 2:26 PM

Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Search SCCGOV Main Portal

Coronavirus and Schools

Welcome education partners. The County Office of Education and County Public Health Department continue to work with schools, school leaders, and parents to prepare for safe reopening of in-person learning, prioritizing in-person elementary school instruction.

 

Back to Top ▲

Current Guidance for District Superintendents, School Boards, Administration Leaders

Additional guidance and resources for parents will be shared in the coming weeks.

Reopening of Santa Clara County K-12 Schools 

 

Back to Top ▲

Resources for Parents

  • Letter from Health Officer Dr. Sara Cody and Superintendent Dr. Mary Ann DeWan on childhood vaccinations and wellness care for the upcoming school year – July 23, 2020.
    PDF: | English | Spanish | Vietnamese

    Additional guidance and resources for parents will be shared in the coming weeks.
  • Science Behind the K-12 School Guidance – July 17, 2020 (Download PDF​) - The Santa Clara County Public Health Department hosted a webinar to discuss the science behind the K-12 school guidance, released on June 30, 2020. The webinar was intended to provide an overview highlighting current scientific data behind the recent public health recommendations. This overview is not comprehensive but highlights themes and key articles and reports relevant to school settings. Our understanding of COVID-19 is rapidly evolving. Santa Clara County Public Health Department will continue to monitor emerging research and provide updated information and recommendations.

 

Back to Top ▲

Summer Camps

 

Back to Top ▲

Important Resources

 

Back to Top ▲

Frequently Asked Questions Regarding School Reopening

  1. When can schools reopen for in-person instruction?
    On July 17, 2020, Governor Gavin Newsom announced new criteria for school reopening and guidance for school closures. These criteria and guidance are contained in a document released by the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) and entitled “COVID-19 and Reopening In-Person Learning Framework for K-12 Schools in California, 2020-2021 School Year.” Under this framework, K-12 schools, public and private, must conduct distance learning only, and may not reopen for in-person instruction, if they are located in a county that has been on the State’s monitoring list at any point in the prior 14 days. Santa Clara County has not been off the State’s monitoring list for 14 consecutive days, and Santa Clara County schools must generally remain closed. Once permitted to reopen, schools should resume in-person instruction and activities consistent with the requirements issued by the Public Health Department.

    Elementary schools, however, are expressly allowed under the State’s school reopening framework to request a waiver from their County health officer allowing full or partial in-person instruction, even in counties on the State’s monitoring list. A waiver may be granted if one is requested by the superintendent (or equivalent for charter or private schools), in consultation with labor, parent and community organizations. Local health officers must review local community epidemiological data, consider other public health interventions, and consult with CDPH when considering a waiver request.

    Additional information on how to apply for a waiver to resume in-person instruction (either full-time or hybrid) for elementary schools is available here​.
  1. If schools reopen for in-person instruction, what criteria will be used to decide when to close a school?
    The State has issued the following guidance:
    • ​“Individual school closure may be appropriate when there are multiple cases in multiple cohorts at a school or when at least 5 percent of the total number of teachers/student/staff are cases within a 14-day period, depending on the size and physical layout of the school.”
    • “A superintendent should close a school district if 25% or more of schools in a district have closed due to COVID-19 within 14 days, and in consultation with the local public health department.”
    • Schools and school districts that close may typically reopen after 14 days, in consultation with the local public health department.
    ​However, the State’s guidance also recognizes that individual school closures and school district closures should be made in consultation with the local health officer. The local health officer may determine school closure is warranted for other reasons, including results from public health investigation or other local epidemiological data.

    Factors that the County of Santa Clara Health Officer may consider in school closure decisions include, but are not limited to, the number of COVID-19 cases associated with a school; a school’s ability to effectively respond to COVID-19 cases and exposures; the number of current COVID-19 cases in Santa Clara County; the degree to which schools are contributing to community spread of COVID-19; the capacity of our health system to identify and care for cases and prevent transmission in healthcare settings; the availability and use of widespread testing to identify new cases; county residents’ ability to quickly and effectively isolate or quarantine themselves when sick; evolving scientific understanding of COVID-19; and our community’s continued cooperation in practicing physical distancing, using face coverings, and taking other preventive measures.
  1. How can students who are part of stable cohorts receive special services from Special Education staff and/or specialty teachers? What is the recommendation for how to serve these students in-person?

    For schools conducting in-person instruction:
    (1) Students with disabilities and their personal aides can rotate into general education classrooms for a portion of the day.
    (2) Students with disabilities can rotate out of their stable classroom cohort and into a separate student cohort for a portion of the day to receive special education services (i.e., pull-out services).
    (3) Specialty teachers may rotate into classrooms for specialized instruction (e.g., art or music).

    Specialty teachers, personal aides, and any other necessary visitors must remain at least six feet from all staff and students and must wear face coverings at all times.
  1. What protocol should substitute teachers adhere to if they are teaching an in-person class for a day?
    Substitute teachers must remain at least six feet from all staff and students and must wear face coverings at all times. If possible, schools should restrict certain substitutes to specific schools or certain grades within a school.
  1. Should families who have traveled out of state be required to quarantine before returning to school?
    The Santa Clara County Public Health Department does not currently have a policy of quarantining families that have traveled out-of-county or out-of-state. However, schools should continue to monitor the Public Health Department’s website for any new or updated COVID-19-related requirements and guidance.
  1. Can band and choir rehearsals be conducted in-person if students meet outdoors, wear masks and remain socially distant while playing or singing?
    Both indoor and outdoor choir and band rehearsals are generally prohibited at this time. However, in-person choir, band, and cheerleading activities may be conducted if they do not include aerosol-generating activities such as singing, playing of wind instruments, cheering, or chanting. In-person class time can be used for non-aerosol generating activities, such as rhythm study, music theory, music history, composition, analysis, and more.

    Schools should consider using Zoom or other video conferencing platforms so that students may participate in aerosol-generating activities (such as singing, playing of wind instruments, cheering, and chanting) at home.
  1. Will there be specific childcare guidance related to before and after school care providers (whether onsite or off site) to mitigate transmission since this will likely result in mixed cohorts of multi-age children?
    The Public Health Department has released a directive for childcare and other programs serving children and youth, which is available here.
  1. Can we have groups of students on campus prior to school starting for purposes of orientation?
    For student orientations, schools should apply the applicable physical distancing, hygiene, and other requirements and recommendations in the Santa Clara County Public Health Department’s “COVID-19 PREPARED: Reopening of Santa Clara County K-12 Schools for the 2020-2021 School Year.”
  1. Are water fountains safe to drink from or should they only be used to fill bottles?
    Schools should suspend or modify use of water fountains to minimize students’ and staff’s sharing or touching items, while maintaining access to drinking water.
  1. Should all teachers and staff be required to have a test for COVID-19 prior to returning to school or be routinely tested like those in other high exposure fields?
    Teachers and staff are not required to have a COVID-19 test prior to returning to school. The County recommends that schools encourage routine monthly testing of all staff, whereas the State requires that “[s]chool districts and schools shall test staff periodically, as testing capacity permits and as practicable.”
  1. How can schools obtain adequate supplies of personal protective equipment (PPE), such as hand sanitizer or face coverings?
    The State of California provided an initial distribution of PPE for school districts and charter schools to use for the first 60 days of school campus reopening. For schools’ additional PPE needs, the State of California has partnered with the California Manufacturers & Technology Association to launch the “Safely Making California” marketplace, which provides non-medical grade PPE, such as face masks, face shields, gowns, gloves, sanitizer and wipes, at discounted prices.
  1. What guidance should be used for schools serving adult populations like continuation schools?
    Continuation schools are required to follow the July 2, 2020 Order of the Health Officer of the County of Santa Clara Establishing Mandatory Risk Reduction Measures Applicable to All Activities and Sectors to Address the COVID-19 Pandemic, which is available here. Continuation schools are also encouraged to follow guidance and planning procedures for Middle School and High School in “COVID-19 PREPARED: Reopening of Santa Clara County K-12 Schools for the 2020-2021 School Year,” to the extent that they are not in conflict with the July 2, 2020 Order.
  1. Parents, especially those of younger children, will want to be in the classroom. Can this be accommodated at all?
    Generally, no. Schools may only allow necessary visitors and volunteers on campus and must limit the number of students and staff who come in contact with them. The limiting of visitors is critical to limiting the risk of COVID-19 transmission in the classroom.
  1. Can schools allow lower school students to attend specific classes with older students (e.g., math or music)?
    To limit mixing of cohorts, students from lower schools should not be participating in in-person instruction with older students.
  1. Who is responsible for enforcing face covering requirements?
    Schools are responsible for ensuring older students required to wear face coverings comply with those requirements, and younger students are strongly encouraged to wear face coverings at all times. However, schools should not exclude young students from the classroom if they occasionally fail to wear a face covering or if a few students in the classroom are consistently unable to wear a face covering (e.g., due to special needs) when required. The Public Health Department’s detailed requirements and guidance on face coverings can be found on pages 11-12 of “COVID-19 PREPARED: Reopening of Santa Clara County K-12 Schools for the 2020-2021 School Year.”
  1. Are schools required to provide their reopening plans to the Santa Clara County Office of Education or the Santa Clara County Public Health Department?
    There is no general requirement to submit reopening plans to either the Santa Clara County Office of Education or Santa Clara County Public Health Department. However, districts/schools seeking a waiver to reopen elementary schools while other schools remain closed must submit their reopening plans as described here.
  1. Can disposable masks be used in place of cloth face coverings?
    The Public Health Department strongly encourages the use of reusable cloth face coverings. Medical masks, such as N95s and surgical masks, are strongly discouraged for general use due to the global shortage of medical masks needed for healthcare professionals. The Public Health Department is aware that the State of California has provided schools with a limited supply of disposable masks and that some school districts have already purchased supplies of disposable masks. Schools may use their existing inventories of disposable masks for students and staff if reusable cloth face coverings are not available.
  1. Are schools required to comply with the County Health Officer’s July 2, 2020 Order Establishing Mandatory Risk Reduction Measures Applicable to All Activities and Sectors to Address the COVID-19 Pandemic (“Order”)?
    Governmental agencies, including local educational agencies, are urged to follow the Order’s requirements that apply to businesses. However, governmental entities and their contractors are not required to follow these requirements to the extent that such requirements would impede or interfere with an essential governmental function, as determined by the governmental entity, unless otherwise specifically directed by the Health Officer. Sectors/industries subject to specific directives of the Health Officer are required to follow the requirements of the applicable directive. All K-12 schools are required to comply with the requirements in “COVID-19 PREPARED: Reopening of Santa Clara County K-12 Schools for the 2020-2021 School Year” and the Mandatory Directive for Schools​.

  2. How should we notify families of COVID-19 cases in the school or program?
    The letter templates should be used by schools, childcare programs, and other programs serving children or youth to notify individuals when a COVID-19 case or close contact of a COVID-19 case is identified in a school setting or in a program serving children or youth and to provide instructions for affected individuals. The letter templates address three scenarios: (1) when a student/child or staff member in a cohort has been in close contact with a COVID-19 case, (2) when a student/child or staff member in a cohort tests positive for COVID-19, and (3) when a student/child or staff member tests positive for COVID-19 in a non-cohort setting​. A cohort is a stable group of students/children and staff who remain together throughout the school day/length of the program and who do not mix with other groups of students/children and staff.

    Please note that these letter templates do not align with the letter templates described in the County’s “Mandatory Directive for Programs Serving Children or Youth” or the County’s “COVID-19 Prepared: Reopening Santa Clara County K-12 Schools for the 2020-2021 School Year.” Both the directive and the school reopening document will be updated in the near future to more clearly reference these letter templates. In the meantime, schools and programs serving children or youth should utilize the letter templates posted here.

 

Back to Top ▲

Archives – Past Guidance

​​​​
Last updated: 8/3/2020 4:50 PM