Navigate Up
District 5 Menu +

Awards and Recognition

District Five
Home > About Joe
Board of Supervisors (2013-Present)

  • Save Our Shores - Ocean Hero of the Year
  • Saratoga City Council - Commendation for Service to the Saratoga Senior Center
  • Fast Company Magazine - First Place, 2014 Policy Hackathon
  • Los Altos Rotary Club - Paul Harris Fellow of the Year
  • Los Altos Chamber of Commerce - New Member of the Year
  • Sunnyvale Chamber of Commerce - Murphy Award
  • American Muslim Voice Foundation - Virtuous Public Official Award
  • City of Santa Cruz - Pollution Prevention Award
  • Armenian Apostolic Church - St. Nerses the Graceful Medal of Honor
  • Silicon Valley Council of Nonprofits - Changemaker Award
  • Sixth District PTA - Golden Oak Service Award
  • NAACP San Jose/Silicon Valley - Legislator of the Year

State Legislature (2000-2012)

  • Bluewater Network - Environmental Leadership Award
  • Breathe California - Clean Air Award for Leadership
  • Environment California - Environmental Champion
  • California Park & Recreation Society Honor Roll
  • Californians Against Waste - Legislator of the Year
  • Santa Clara County League of Conservation Voters - Legislator of the Year
  • Vote the Coast - Coastal Steward Award; Coastal Champion Award
  • Green California - Environmental Champion

K-12 Education

  • Association of California School Administrators - Friend of Education
  • Association of Low Wealth Schools - Legislator of the Year
  • California Association of Student Councils - Legislator of the Year
  • California County Boards of Education - Outstanding Legislator of the Year
  • California County Superintendents Educational Services Association - Legislator of the Year
  • California League of Middle Schools - Legislator of the Year
  • California Network of Educational Charters - California Legislator of the Year
  • California Reading Association - Policymaker of the Year
  • California School Boards Association - Outstanding Legislator of the Year
  • California State PTA - Honorary Service Award
  • Early Intervention for School Success (EISS) - Education Advocate of the Year 2012
  • Palo Alto Educators’ Association - Sally Siegel Friend of Education
  • Springboard Schools (currently Pivot Learning Partners) - Education Leader of the Year
  • Preschool California - Early Learning Lifetime Achievement Award

Higher Education

  • Alumni Associations of the University of California - Legislator of the Year
  • California State University System - Legislator of the Year
  • Cañada College - Courage in Educational Leadership Award

Children & Youth

  • California Children’s Health Initiatives - Champion for Children Award
  • Child Care Coordinating Council (4 C’s) of San Mateo County - The Mary Petsche Award for Visionary Leadership
  • Child Development Policy Institute - Children’s Champion Award
  • Friends for Youth - Making a Difference Award

Safety & Consumer Protection

  • CalPIRG - Consumer Champion Award
  • Fight Crime: Invest in Kids California - Crime Fighter Award
  • Elder Financial Protection Network - Donald N. Phelps Visionary Award
  • “Are You Dense?” Champion of Exposing the Secret

Business & Technology

  • AeA (American Electronics Association) - High-Tech Legislator of the Year
  • Center for Energy Efficiency and Renewable Technologies (CEERT) - Clean Power Champion
  • Design-Build Institute of America - Distinguished Leadership Award
  • Power Association of Northern California - Person of the Year
  • RSA Conference - Award for Excellence in Public Policy
  • Scientific American - One of the “Scientific American 50” Leaders in Technology
  • SolarTech - Solar Hero Award


  • ACLU of Santa Cruz County - True Patriot Award
  • California Library Association - Legislator of the Year
  • California National Organization for Women (NOW) - Legislator of the Year
  • CreaTV San Jose - Community Media Champion
  • National Multiple Sclerosis Society - California Legislator of the Year
  • Junior Leagues of California - Legislator of the Year
  • Peninsula Interfaith Action - Community Hero
  • Planned Parenthood Advocates (Mar Monte) - Voices for Change Legislator Award
  • Redwood City Public Library - “Fueling the Fire of Hope” Award
  • San Andreas Regional Center - Legislator of the Year