Navigate Up
Finance Agency Menu +
Home > Controller-Treasurer Department

Department Overview

Last modified: 2/27/2012 2:22 PM

The Controller-Treasurer Department, one of four departments in the Finance Agency, fulfills the functions of Chief Accounting Officer, Internal Auditor, and Treasurer.

The department is organized into six operating divisions:

Accounting Division

Responsible for traditional accounting services provided by the General Accounting Unit as well as specialty accounting, which includes Service Desk, Cost Plan, SB 90 Program and Fixed Assets.


Disbursement Division

Responsible for operational services provided by the payroll, accounts payable, and data control units.


Fiscal Services Division

Responsible for systems support for the Countywide accounting, payroll and timekeeping systems, and office automation for the  Controller-Treasurer Department. This division is also responsible for technology projects for new system development and maintenance.


Internal Audit Division

Responsible for the performance of audits and special investigations of County departments. A significant portion of the work performed by this division is required by the County Charter.


Property Tax Division

Responsible for the apportionment of property taxes to the County, cities, school districts, and special purpose districts.


Treasury Division Responsible for the investment of idle funds and the processing of all deposits made by the County, school districts, and special purpose districts. This division is also responsible for debt financing.