Navigate Up
Menu + Public Affairs
Home > News Releases

Ceremony to Honor Santa Clara County EMS Personnel and Volunteers Dec. 1

Santa Clara County Chief Dispatcher to Receive Inter-Service Recognition Medal

SANTA CLARA COUNTY, CALIF. – Local public safety personnel and volunteers will be honored for their contributions to the Santa Clara County Emergency Medical Services System (EMS) at a California EMS Authority awards ceremony, December 1. Among the honorees is Santa Clara County Communications Chief Dispatcher Curtis Darnell who will receive the Inter-Service Recognition Medal.

The awards will be given by the California EMS Authority to honor noteworthy or exceptional acts and service while working as EMS certified or licensed personnel, administrators, trainers, or volunteers within the EMS system.

“We are proud to have local individuals recognized by the state EMS Authority, including Santa Clara County Communications Chief Dispatcher Curtis Darnell,” said Tom Lynch, EMS Director for Santa Clara County. “Curtis has been instrumental in creating awareness with local stakeholders about the critical role EMS plays in public safety.”

Darnell has been a leader in the growth and development of the Santa Clara County EMS System. He encouraged growth and development within the area of EMS incident response, cross training, incident dispatcher support, training, exercises, and continuing education. His leadership has led to a well integrated approach to Medical-Health/EMS response and system management. The 28-year veteran dispatcher joined Santa Clara County Communications in 1982, and will be retiring in December. He was a law enforcement dispatcher, then certified as a medical dispatcher, a fire dispatcher and became fully certified in all dispatch positions in 1990. In 2007, he was promoted to Chief Dispatcher where he supervisors approximately 80 dispatchers. Santa Clara County Communications serves the Santa Clara County Sheriff's Office, County Fire (17 stations across 8 cities) and County paramedics which covers the entire county.

“I am honored to be recognized for being a partner to the County EMS Agency,” Darnell said. “The vitality of that partnership is exemplified by County 9-1-1 dispatchers and the EMS agency defining and creating a medical response system that is a model of service for people in need.”

Darnell is one of four individuals from the Santa Clara County EMS System who will be honored at the December 1 ceremony. Awardees include:

  • Chief Dispatcher Curtis Darnell, Santa Clara County Communications: Inter-Service Recognition Medal for service and leadership to integrate EMS into the public safety stakeholder community.
  • Ms. Consuelo Yokum, Santa Clara County Medical Volunteers for Disaster Response: Inter-Service Recognition Medal for volunteer service and leadership during the H1N1 pandemic emergency in Santa Clara County.
  • Captain Michael Van Elgort, San Jose Fire Department: Meritorious Service Medal for service and leadership to advance prehospital cardiac care in Santa Clara County.
  • Captain David Huseman, San Jose Fire Department: Meritorious Service Medal for providing superior EMS service and education for over 30 years in Santa Clara County.

The California Emergency Medical Services Authority Awards Ceremony will be held on Dec. 1, 10 a.m., at the Marines Memorial Club and Hotel, 609 Sutter Street, San Francisco. Media inquires about the awards or media inquiries about attending the ceremony should be directed to June Iljana, EMS Authority, (916) 322-4336 x428.

Media Contact: Gwendolyn Mitchell/Laurel Anderson, Office of Public Affairs, (408) 299-5119; Joy Alexiou, Santa Clara Valley Health and Hospital System (408) 885-4164
Posted: November 30, 2010