Navigate Up
Menu + Public Affairs
Home > News Releases

Santa Clara County Supervisors Approve New District Boundaries

Action Reflects Census Changes; Cures Some Illogical Community Splits

SANTA CLARA COUNTY, CALIF.—Today, the County of Santa Clara Board of Supervisors approved the adoption of Map 1 Revision 1, which sets new Supervisorial District boundaries. The new boundaries assure that the county’s 1.78 million residents are represented by one of five county supervisors. The Voting Rights Act of 1965 calls for each district to be as nearly as equal in population as possible. The ideal target population per district would be 356,320 residents. Under the Map approved today, population shifts between districts and range from minus 5.2% to plus 4.4% compared to the ideal target. Map 1 Revision 1 was offered by President Dave Cortese, County of Santa Clara Board of Supervisors, following a decision two weeks ago to keep four alternative maps under consideration.

Key Changes

  • Area 1 – A portion of Sunnyvale moves from District 3 to District 5, from El Camino Real northward along Mathilda Avenue and Central Expressway
  • Area 2 - Monte Sereno and an unincorporated pocket moves from District 5 to District 1
  • Area 3 – A portion of San Jose moves from District 2 to District 4, from Park Avenue north to The Alameda; Montgomery Street is the eastern boundary
  • Area 3a – A portion of San Jose moves from District 4 to District 2, a minor adjustment from Park Avenue and Los Gatos Creek to Montgomery Street
  • Area 4 – A portion of San Jose from District 2 to District 4; the existing boundary which follows Los Gatos Creek, Fruitdale Avenue, Meridian Ave and Curtner Ave is pushed east along Bird Avenue, Malone Road and Almaden Road to Almaden Expressway
  • Area 4a – A portion of San Jose from District 4 to District 2; a minor adjustment from Curtner Avenue and Almaden Expressway to Almaden Road
  • Area 5 – A portion of San Jose moves from District 4 to District 1; current boundary moves from Los Gatos city limits and Blossom Hill Road north to Highway 85 between Bascom Avenue on the west and Almaden Expressway on the east
  • Area 6 – A portion of San Jose moves from District 3 to District 2; area bounded by Aborn Road, Brigadoon Way, Eaglehurst Drive and Silver Creek Road is now a part of District 2
  • Area 7 – A portion of San Jose from District 1 to District 2; brings current boundary at Senter Road and Coyote Road south to Blossom Hill Road between Monterey Highway and Highway 101
  • Area 8 – A portion of San Jose and Unincorporated Area moves from District 1 to District 3; realignment takes the eastern-most boundary of District 3 and pushes it to the County line; the southern boundary of District 3 generally follows this description - beginning at Highway 101 and Silver Creek Valley Road, eastward along Silver Creek Valley Road following the San Jose city limit boundary, eastward to San Felipe Road, eastward to Smith Creek and further eastward along the Morgan Hill Unified School District Boundary.

“Map 1, Revision 1 takes into account various aspects of the public feedback to the Citizens’ Redistricting Advisory Commission and the Board and has been tweaked for the best possible outcome,” said The Honorable Susie Wilson, Citizens’ Redistricting Advisory Commission Chair.

The Board credited President Dave Cortese and his office for working to find compromises that addressed the population shifts as well as some of the illogical community splits that exist in the current Supervisorial Districts.

“In politics we try to come up with compromises that meet the needs of the greatest number,” said Supervisor Liz Kniss, District 5. “While it was not possible to address every community desire, the map is cohesive and makes sense.”

“I am very pleased to support a map that maintains communities of interest throughout the county,” said Supervisor George Shirakawa.

“The process to solicit community input was extremely well-received,” said Supervisor Mike Wasserman, District 1. “Susie Wilson is to be commended for her leadership as chair of the Citizen’s Redistricting Commission.”

Supervisor Ken Yeager, District 4, said, “One thing I appreciate about the map is that it incorporates many of the comments made during the public hearing. Also, Rose Garden and Willow Glen are now in one district, which my constituents wanted.”

“The bulk of the work was done by the Citizens’ Redistricting Advisory Commission,” said Cortese. “We were able to take in their recommendations, as well as concerns expressed by various members of the community and arrive at a solution that everyone could support.”


On June 7th, the Board held a public hearing to consider recommendations of the 11-member Citizens’ Redistricting Advisory Commission, appointed last December. The advisory group’s mission was to make recommendations to the Board for the adjustment of supervisorial district boundaries to reflect population shifts identified in Census 2010. The group held several meetings to solicit public input and presented a number of alternative maps to the Board. On June 7th, four of 13 possible maps were advanced for consideration. Today, the Board voted unanimously to approve the Map 1, Revision 1.

MEDIA CONTACT: Gwendolyn Mitchell/Lingxia Meng, Office of Public Affairs, 408-299-5119
POSTED: June 21, 2011