Navigate Up
Women's Policy
Menu +

Leonard Edwards Champion of Peace Award

Published on: 5/21/2014 8:55 AM

The Leonard Edwards Champion of Peace Award is presented by the Santa Clara County Domestic Violence Council each year in October during Domestic Violence Awareness Month. This award is designed to recognize the contributions that individuals in our community make to promote peace and stop family violence. The first recipient of the Peace Award was the Honorable Len Edwards, for whom the award is named. Candidates must have demonstrated a commitment to peace in the family and community for a minimum of twenty years. Past winners include:




​Year Recipient
​2003 Honorable Leonard Edwards, Superior Court Judge
​2004 ​​Steve Baron, Family Court Services Director
​2005 Rolanda Pierre-Dixon, Assistant District Attorney
Kathleen Krenek, Executive Director, Next Door
George Kennedy, District Attorney​
​2007 ​​Blanca Alvarado, Board of Supervisors, District 2
​2008 ​​Honorable Maryann Grilli, Superior Court Judge
​2009 ​​Janet Johnston, MSW, PHD, San Jose State Univ.
Captain Alana Forrest, Los Gatos/Monte Sereno Police Dept.
Honorable Katherine Lucero, Superior Court Judge​
2011 Honorable Sharon Chatman, Superior Court Judge
2012 Maureen Lowell, LMFT, Lecturer, San Jose State University
2013 Nancy Marshall, MFT, Executive Director, Domestic Violence Intervention Collaborative