Navigate Up
Parks and Recreation Menu +

Visitor Center Host

Published on: 11/26/2018 3:52 PM
Print


Visitor Center Hosts provide park information to park visitors and help interpret the displays and exhibits to a wide variety of park visitors. They also provide light housekeeping and upkeep of exhibits and assist park staff in a variety of other tasks and support activities. This is a great opportunity for those who like interacting with people and sharing their knowledge. The following list includes existing opportunities available to interested volunteers. Click on each one to find out more information or to apply. Upon acceptance, all volunteers must complete the three-hour Visitor Services Training, offered quarterly. For upcoming training dates, click here.  Additional training includes volunteer orientation to the specific park site, Foundations of Interpretation (free online course) and on-the-job training. 



Contact:  Senior Park Ranger Brian Christensen at brian.christensen@prk.sccgov.org​ or (408) 918-7981; or the volunteer program office at volunteer@prk.sccgov.org or (408) 918-4930.   
Commitment:  Two shifts per month for six months
Shifts:  10am-1pm and 1pm-4pm seven days a week


Contact: Park Interpreter Kelsi Ju at  kelsi.ju@prk.sccgov.org or (408) 918-7773; or the volunteer program office at volunteer@prk.sccgov.org or (408) 918-4930.   
Commitment:  Two shifts per month for six months
Shifts: 10am-1pm and 1pm-4pm on Fridays; 11am-2pm and 2pm-5pm on Saturdays


Contact: Senior Park Ranger Phil Hearin at phillip.hearin@prk.sccgov.org or (408) 438-8504; or the volunteer program office at volunteer@prk.sccgov.org​ or (408) 918-4930. 
Commitment: One to two shifts per month for six months
Shifts: 10am-1pm and 1pm-4pm on Saturdays and Sundays. Weekday shifts available.

 
Contact: Senior Park Ranger Pat Silva at patrick.silva@prk.sccgov.org or 408-842-7800; or the volunteer program office at volunteer@prk.sccgov.org​ or (408) 918-4930. 
Commitment:  Two shifts per month for six months 
Shifts: 10am-1pm or 1pm-4pm on Saturdays and Sundays


Contact: Senior Park Ranger Steve Famalett at steve.famalett@prk.sccgov.org or (408) 262-6980; or the volunteer program office at volunteer@prk.sccgov.org or (408) 918-4930. 
Commitment: One to two shifts per month for six months 
Shifts: 11am-3pm Saturdays and Sundays


Contact: Park Ranger Bryan Lue at bryan.lue@prk.sccgov.org or (408) 225-0225; or the volunteer program office at volunteer@prk.sccgov.org or (408) 918-4930.   
Commitment:  Two shifts per month for six months
Shifts: 10am-1pm and 1pm-4pm weekends and holidays. Weekday shifts available.


Contact: Park Manager Sara Shellenbarger at sara.shellenbarger@prk.sccgov.org or (408) 535-4062; or the volunteer program office at volunteer@prk.sccgov.org or (408) 918-4930.   
Commitment:  Two shifts per month for six months
Shifts: 10am-1pm and 1pm-4pm on weekends; 10am-2pm on weekdays


Contact: Park Interpreter Chris Carson at chris.carson@prk.sccgov.org  or (408) 918-7772; or the volunteer program office at volunteer@prk.sccgov.org or (408) 918-4930. 
Commitment: Two shifts per month for six months
Shifts: 10am-1pm and 12pm-4pm on weekends; 12-4 pm on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Fridays. Museum is closed on Wednesdays and Thursdays


Contact: Park Ranger Brent Biafore at brent.biafore@prk.sccgov.org or (408) 867-9959; or the volunteer program office at volunteer@prk.sccgov.org or (408) 918-4930. 
Commitment: One to two shifts per month for six months 
Shifts: 11am-3pm on weekends


Contact: Senior Park Ranger Holly Maximovich at holly.maximovich@prk.sccgov.org​ or (408) 334-3990; or the volunteer program office at volunteer@prk.sccgov.org​ or (408) 918-4930. 
Commitment: One to two shifts per month for six months
Shifts: 10am-2pm on weekends and holidays

 
CLICK ON INTERESTED PARK TO APPLY
Back to top







*
Contact County Disclaimer