Navigate Up
Menu +
Home > Home (English) > For Residents > Travel/Adult Immunization (IZ) Clinic
PRINT

TB skin test (TST) or PPD

Tuberculosis (TB) is a disease that is spread through the air from an infected person to another person. There are two kinds of tests that are used to determine if a person has been infected with TB bacteria: the tuberculin skin test and TB blood test.
 
Our clinic only provides the TB (tuberculin) skin test. We do not perform TB blood tests or chest x-rays.
 
What to expect during your visit:
Upon arrival, you will be asked to complete registration forms. Once you meet with the nurse, you will be given the TB skin test. The TB skin test is performed by injecting a small amount of fluid into the skin in the lower part of the arm. The TB skin test must be read 48-72 HOURS after placement to be valid. The nurse will inform you when to return for the reading. If you fail to return for the reading at the designated time, the test is considered invalid. It will have to be repeated and it will cost an additional $33.
 
If you have a prior documented positive TB test, we will not perform another TB test.  
 
TB skin tests are not given on Thursdays or the following dates:

  • Friday January 16, 2015
  • Friday February 13, ​2015
  • Tuesday March 31, 2015
  • Friday May 22, ​2015
  • Wednesday July 01, 2015
  • Friday September 4, ​2015
  • Friday October 9, 2015
  • Tuesday November 24, ​2015
  • Wednesday November 25, ​2015
  • Wednesday December 23, ​2015

Please remember to bring your immunization record.

 
Learn more about TB screening in Santa Clara County:
 

Travel/Adult Immunization Clinic
976 Lenzen Avenue, Suite 1100
San Jose, CA 95126
(408) 792-5200
 

 

 

BACK TO TOP







*
Contact County Disclaimer

Our mission is to prevent disease and injury and create environments that promote and protect the community's health.