Navigate Up
Social Services Agency
Menu +


Published on: 4/25/2017 5:01 PM

Medi-Cal is made up of many different programs with different eligibility requirements. These programs fall under two main categories: MAGI and Non-MAGI. Following the implementation of Health Care Reform in 2014, Medi-Cal expanded to include a larger population. A County Eligibility Worker will assess your Medi-Cal eligibility and evaluate which program is the best fit for you. View the Guide to Medi-Cal in Santa Clara County for general information.

Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) Medi-Cal: Provides free health care for those that meet the income requirements. MAGI Medi-Cal does not require property verification. The following groups may be eligible for MAGI Medi-Cal under the new program rules:

  • Adults (age 19-64)
  • Parents/Caretaker Relatives
  • Children (up to age 19)

Non-MAGI Medi-Cal: Provides health care to all groups who were eligible for Medi-Cal before healthcare reform including:

  • Aged
  • Disabled
  • Blind
  • Long term care
  • Refugee
  • Confidential youth medical services
  • Families with children
  • Children

The income limits for Non-MAGI Medi-Cal vary according to family size and program category. Income is used to determine if a person/family is eligible for free Medi-Cal or Share of Cost (SOC) Medi-Cal. There is also a property limit for the programs.


See what's happening!