DFCS Online Policies & Procedures

  DFCS Online Policies & Procedures

   <<< Return to OPP Table of Contents
Handbook 4: Case Planning and Case Management Services
4-2.2 Intensive Upfront Services Collaborative (Domestic Violence Advocates)
Case Planning and Case Management Services
4-4.2 Intensive Upfront and Parent Skill-Building Services
Reference Points
Who Can Be Referred for Services
How to Refer to Services
What Services do Families Receive

Reference Points
Effective Date: In effect
Last Updated: 6/7/12
 Legal Basis:
Popup Window Legal Basis Text
 Non CWS/CMS Forms:
MS Word Intensive Upfront & Parent Skill Building Services Referral (SCZ342C)
 CWS/CMS Forms:
PDF Forms Text


Gardner Family Care is the contractor for intensive case management services, which includes a parent skill-building component.  Referrals may be made by social workers from the Department of Family and Children's Services for families with children who are not depedents of the juvenile court or any other court jurisdictions.  Families must be willing to accept services voluntarily.

    < Return to OPP Table of Contents | ^ Back to Top of Page
Who Can Be Referred for Services  

Families receiving the following services can be referred:

  • Informal Supervision (both in-home voluntary and out-of-home services)

  • Voluntary Family Maintenance

  • Voluntary Family Reunification

  • Court Family Maintenance recommended by DFCS at Disposition

  • Court Family Maintenance recommended by DFCS when child(ren) return home after Family Reunification Services
    < Return to OPP Table of Contents | ^ Back to Top of Page
How to Refer to Services  

Social workers may refer families to services by:

  • Completing the Intensive Up-Front and Parent Skill-building Services Referral (SCZ342C).

  • Emailing the completed SCZ342C to Bernadette Maritinez at BMartinez@gfc-corp.org at Gardner Family Care Center.

  • Sending a copy of the email (“cc”) to: Roxanne.Stephens@ssa.sccgov.org
    < Return to OPP Table of Contents | ^ Back to Top of Page
What Services Do Families Receive  
  • During the first 30 days of services families are assessed using the North Carolina Family Assessment Scale (NCFAS) and the Family History and Needs Assessment. 
    • The NCFAS assesses families across six domains:  Environment, Parental Capabilities, Family Interactions, Family Safety, and Child Well Being. 
    • The Family History Needs Assessment provides a narrative of the family’s history, stressors, strengths, need and areas for potential growth. 
    • Both assessments screen for safety, domestic violence, and substance use in the home. In addition, the Ages and Stages Questionnaire III and Social/Emotional are administered to all children under six to screen for developmental concerns.
  • Following the initial assessment, Gardner staff work with the family by:
    • Developing an Individual Family Success Plan (IFSP) is developed with the family, focusing on the domains identified as areas of concern. 
    • Assisting family members in identifying risks to their children in their home and community and support them in taking steps to protect their families.
    • Providing weekly parenting groups where parents receive training employing evidence-based curricula (e.g., Family Wellness and Parenting Without Violence). 
      • Childcare and/or youth groups will be provided for participating parents. 
    • Providing Gardner Parenting Coaches, which provide in-home coaching on a weekly basis to facilitate the transfer of learning from the parenting group experiences to the family's home life and interactions.
    • Empowering family members to advocate for  their family’s needs by connecting them to resources in their community.

  • The NCFAS is utilized at the time of case closure to assess the family’s progress.
    < Return to OPP Table of Contents | ^ Back to Top of Page
Other References  
PDF Other Reference Text goes here...
    < Return to OPP Table of Contents | ^ Back to Top of Page

Dept of Family & Children's Services Santa Clara County SSA